Saturday, July 2, 2011

Champions League Twenty 20 [CL T20] 2011 tournament format announced

The format of much awaited cricketing event of the year Champions League T-20 has been announced on 30 June 2011.There will be 23 Matches in total.

CL T20 2011 format
-A record 13 teams from around the world will fight for a chance to claim the most prestigious and lucrative prize in international cricket.

-Out of 13 teams, 7 teams have already been qualified (see here)

- Other 6 teams will take part in qualifying event which will be held for the first time Three of them will join 7 already qualified teams in the main event.

- The six teams will be divided into two pools and the top team from each pool qualifies for the group stage, with the third team to be the next highest ranked team based on points and then net run rate.

-The group stage of the tournament follows the same successful format as 2010. The 10 teams have been divided into two groups for a round robin phase where each team plays against every other team in its group. The top two teams from each group progress to the Semi Finals with winner of one group taking on runner up of other.Needless to say, winners of Semis meeting on final for the title.

CL T-20 Dates 
-Qualifier will be held from 19-21 September 2011

-The main tournament will run from 23 September-9 October 2011

-The tournament starts in Bengaluru on Friday 23 September with a Group B clash between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Warriors

-Semi Final on Friday 7 October and Saturday 8 October

- Final on Sunday 9 October

CL T-20 Venue
- The tournament returns to India this year(South Africa hosted cl T20 2010) with matches in Chennai, Bengaluru and Kolkata.

-The Qualifier will be held in Hyderabad at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium

- Kolkata’s iconic Eden Gardens, and Bengaluru’s M. Chinnaswamy Stadium and Chennai’s M. A. Chidambaram Stadium will host group stage matches.

-Bengaluru and Chennai have been awarded a Semi Final on Friday 7 October and Saturday 8 October respectively, with Chennai also selected to host the 2011 CLT20 Final on Sunday 9 October.

CL T-20 Teams

Kolkata Knight Riders (India)
Trinidad and Tobago (West Indies)
Auckland Aces (New Zealand)
Ruhuna(Sri Lanka)
England 1 (tbc)
England 2 (tbc)

Group Stage

Group A
Chennai Super Kings (India)
Cape Cobras (South Africa)
NSW Blues (Australia)
Mumbai Indians (India)
1st Pool B Qualifier

Group B
Royal Challengers Bangalore(India)
Warriors (South Africa)
South Australian Redbacks(Australia)
1st Pool A Qualifier
Next Highest Ranked Qualifier


Post a Comment